Friday , 12 April 2024
Breaking News

English Premier League History, total teams and Champions

The English Premier League is a UK based football league which is sponsored by Barclays & generally it is called as Barclays Premier league. This is an English professional league which is organized in England every year. This league was officially founded on 20th Feb, 1992. At that time, the league was called as FA Premier League. The League is contested by total of 20 football clubs. In this tournament, 20 club members act as shareholders of each team. The English Premier League is the most watched league of football all over the world.   Premier-League Sources have declared that the league broadcast in 201 territories which telecast the league to about 643M homes which covers the audience of 4.7B people. The First Division, that had been the highest level of English soccer since 1888, was well behind leagues like Series A of Italy & La Liga of Spain in attendances and revenues, & a number of other prime English players had moved abroad.

History of League

The beginning of English Premier League starts with lots of troubles. Although the league has tasted the success of Europe in 1970 and 1980 but the English team was marked with very less points. The year 1985 was very crucial. The condition of football stadiums was not so good. The condition of supporters of the team was in danger. There was hooliganism in every spot and the English clubs were banned to participate in European Championships for 5 years. In the year of 1992, the primary Division clubs resigned from the football league en bloc & on twenty seven may, 1992 the English Premier League was founded as a company figuring out of workplace at the soccer Association’s then headquarters in Lancaster Gate. This results break up of the 104 year old football League that had operated till then with four divisions. Initially the League was conducted in its first season with total of 22 football clubs. This first league was held in the session of 1992–93. The football Club which is called as king of English Premier League Manchester United was beaten in the first match of this league by 2–1. Sheffield United was the club which beat Man. United & the first ever goal in the league was scored by Brian Deane. The league consists of total 20 clubs. In the league, each team has to play 38 matches with other teams. In this way, total 380 matches are played in each season of the league. Generally most of the games are played in the afternoons of Saturday & Sunday. The other games are played in the evening of weekdays.

Confederation UEFA
Country England
Date of Foundation 20th Feb, 1992
Total Teams 20
League Cups League
Domestic Cups FA Cup, FA Community Shield
International Cups UEFA Champions League, UEFA EUROPA League
Most time CHampions Manchester United (13 times)
Current Champions Manchester Unit
Official Website

The Team List of English Premier League

English-Premier-Teams Right now the league has 20 football clubs which are: Arsenal, Aston Villa, Fulham, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Queens Park Rangers, Reading, Southampton, Stoke city, Sunderland, Swansea City, Tottenham Hotspur, West Bromwich Albion, West Ham United, Wigan Athletic.

The Champions & the Runner-Up of Premier League

Season Champions Runner-Up
1992–93 Manchester United Aston Villa
1993–96 Manchester United Blackburn Rovers
1994–95 Blackburn Rovers Manchester United
1995–96 Manchester United Newcastle United
1996–97 Manchester United Newcastle United
1997–98 Arsenal Manchester United
1998–99 Manchester United Arsenal
1999–2000 Manchester United Arsenal
2000-01 Manchester United Arsenal
2001-02 Arsenal Liverpool
2002-03 Manchester United Arsenal
2003-04 Arsenal Chelsea
2004-05 Chelsea Arsenal
2005-06 Chelsea Manchester United
2006-07 Manchester United Chelsea
2007-08 Manchester United Chelsea
2008-09 Manchester United Liverpool
2009-10 Chelsea Manchester United
2010-11 Manchester United Chelsea
2011-12 Manchester city Manchester United
2012–13 Manchester United TBD


Check Also

Cristiano Ronaldo became the best scorer in the history of football

Manchester United’s Portuguese striker Cristiano Ronaldo has become the top scorer in the history of …



    My name is Onyebibile Fortune, the CEO of SEESPORTS ENTERTAINMENT COMPANY LTD; a registered sports and entertainment company. I really want to appreciate the organizers of English Premier League for keeping the record. We are also organizing a similar game in Nigeria. football tournament named CONSOLIDATION CUP[ 14th edition.

  2. Sanjeev Singh

    English Premier League is the best

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.