Saturday , 25 May 2024
Breaking News

UEFA Champions League History, Team distribution & Prize Money

UEFA Champions League is one of the most successful & popular football League all over the world. It is generally called as Champions League. When it was formed, it was called European Champions club’s cup. The League was formed by the Union of European Football Association (UEFA). The most successful football club of the league is Real Madrid which has 9 times this title. Here you will know about the History, Team distribution and Prize money in this League.


Date of Founded


Total teams

77(total) 32 (group stage)

Most Titled club

Real Madrid (9 titles)

Current Champions




History of UEFA League


 The 1st European Cup was held in the season 1955–1956. In that tournament, total of 16 teams participated. The teams were Aarhus, Djurgarden, Milan, AGF, Anderlecht, Gwardia Warszawa, Hibernian, Partizan, PSD, Rapid Wien, Real Madrid, Rot Weiss, Essen, Saarbrucken, Servette, Sporting CP, Stade de Reims & Voros Lobogo.

 On 4th Sepetember 1955, the 1st match was played. The match was come to an end with a draw between Sporting CP & Partizan with score of 3–3. Joao Baptista Martins from Sporting CP was the 1st goal scorer of the UEFA League. Finally UEFA got his first champion of champions in the form of Real Madrid. After their first title, the club again won the trophy next year. The next final was against Fiorentina.

 In a repeat of the primary final, Madrid Stade Reims in 1958–1959 season final, simply winning 2–0. West German aspect Eintracht metropolis became the primary non-Latin team to achieve the final. The 1959–1960 season finale still holds the record for the foremost goals scored. However the record is overshadowed by the 7–3 thrashing Eintracht metropolis received in Hampden Park, courtesy of 4 goals by Ferenc Puskás and a hat-trick by Alfredo Di Stéfano. This was Real Madrid’s 5th consecutive title.


Distribution of teams in UEFA League


Teams enter in Round

Teams from Last Round

1st Round of Qualify (6 teams)

6 Champion from 48–53 associations


2nd Round of Qualify (34teams)

31 Champions from 16–47 associations

3 winners from 1st Round of Qualify

3rd Round of Qualify


(20 teams)

3 Champions from 13–15 associations

17 winners from the 2nd Round of Qualify


 (8 teams)

8 Runners up from 8–15 associations


Play-Off Round


(10 teams)


10 winners from 3rd round of Qualify

Non Champions

(10 teams)

  • 1 runner up from 7 associations
  • Three 3rd placed teams from 4–6 associations
  •  2 4th placed teams from 1–3 associations

4 Winners from 3rd round of qualify from non-champions

Group Stage

(32 teams)

  • Title Holders
  • 12 Champions from 1–12 champions
  • 6 runner ups from 1–6 associations
  • Three 3rd placed teams from 1–3 associations
  • 5 winners from play off round for champions
  • 5 winners from the play off round for non champions

Knockout Phase

(16 teams)

  • 8 group winners from the group stage
  • 8 group runners up from group stage

Prize Money for the Winner team & other teams 


  • Winner of Final:                                €10,500,000
  • Runner Up:                                       €6,500,000
  • Semi-Finals:                                     €4,900,000
  • Quarter Finals:                                €3,900,000
  • Round of 16:                                     €3,500,000
  • Group match Draw:                        €500,000
  • Group Match Victory:                   €1,000,000
  • Base fee for group stage:               €8,600,000
  • Play Offs:                                         €2,100,000


Check Also

Cristiano Ronaldo became the best scorer in the history of football

Manchester United’s Portuguese striker Cristiano Ronaldo has become the top scorer in the history of …

One comment

  1. Nasty mouse infestation

    Wow, this article is pleasant, my sister is analyzing these things, so I am
    going to let know her.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.