Wednesday , 28 September 2022
FIFA World Cup 2014 golden boot winner James Rodriguez

FIFA World Cup 2014 Golden Boot Winner is James Rodriguez

The Colombian growing star striker James Rodriguez wins the Golden boot award in FIFA World Cup 2014. Although his national team didn’t won the world cup, but the player showed his best class throughout the whole tournament. His last goal against Brazil in quarter final match was his 6th goal of the tournament. Check out the list of all winners of this award below.

Winner of FIFA World Cup 2014 Golden Boot

FIFA World Cup 2014 golden boot winner James Rodriguez Before the start of tournament, Colombia lost one of their best player in the form of Radamel Falcao due to injury. But Rodriguez did Falcao’s job fabulously, assisted his team to qualify for the quarter final stage for the first time in football world cup history. Thomas Muller & Lionel Messi were the strongest competitor of golden shoe award. Both of them had chance for winning this award, but the defense of Germany & Argentina worked well in final match. Only one goal was scored in final which came by Mario Gotze & turned out the winning goal for Die Mannschaft. James Rodriguez is currently playing for AS Monaco. Spanish club Real Madrid is looking to sign him for a big amount, but there are no strong words about this transfer. He also expressed his desperation for Real Madrid that it would be a dream comes true to play for Real Madrid.

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot All Winners
Year Winner Goals
1930 Guillermo Stabile Argentina Eight
1934 Oldrich Nejedly Czech Republic Five
1938 Leonidas Brazil Seven
1950 Ademir Brazil Eight
1954 Sandor Kocsis Hungary Eleven
1958 Just Fontaine France Thirteen
1962 Florian Albert, Nova, Garrincha & Vava, Jerkovic, Leonel Sanchez Hungary, USSR, Brazil, Yugoslavia, Chile Four each
1966 Eusebio Portugal Nine
1970 Gerd Muller Germany Ten
1974 Grzegorz Lato Poland Seven
1978 Mario Kempes Argentina ix
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy Six
1986 Gary Lineker England Six
1990 Salvatore Schillaci Italy Six
1994 Oleg Salenko, Hristo Stoichkov Russia & Bulgaria Six each
1998 Davor Suker Croatia Six
2002 Ronaldo Brazil Eight
2006 Miroslav Klose Germany Five
2010 Thomas Muller Germany Five
2014 James Rodriguez Colombia Six

The 23 year old player played 5 games & scored 6 goals in Brazil World Cup & bagged Golden shoe award. In 2012, he also won Portuguese Golden ball, given to the best player in Primera Liga at the age of just 20. With that award he was declared the youngest player to win Portuguese Golden Ball. Rodriguez scored in every match of group stage against Japan, Ivory Coast & Greece. In round of quarter final, he scored 2 goals against Uruguay out of which one was a stunning goal with volley. Against host nation Brazil, he netted last time via penalty but couldn’t save defeat of Colombia.

Check Also

Achraf Lazaar, Newcastle

Achraf Lazaar Is Set For Newcastle Exit During The Winter Transfer Window

According to reports, Newcastle are going to let Achraf Lazaar go when the winter transfer …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.