Sunday , 26 June 2022

UEFA Explains VAR Penalty Decision In The Win Of Man United

UEFA has offered an explanation regarding the late penalty that was given out for the handball which aided Manchester United to secure a win over Paris Saint Germain in Champions League.

Damir Skomina, the referee had been cautioned by the video assistant referred under seriously missed incident VAR late protocol on the last-16 second leg tie in Paris of Manchester United. After UEFA viewed the replays, they said that the referee gave the spot-kick against Presnel Kimpembe, the PSG defender since his arm wasn’t close to his body as Diogo Dalot struck the shot. According to the statement of UEFA, after checking the on-field review, the referee gave the confirmation that the distance that had been covered by the ball wasn’t short and also the impact thus, cannot be unexpected. They said that the arm of the defender wasn’t close to the body. This makes the body of the defender bigger and hence, the ball was stopped from traveling towards the goal. This is what made the referee give the penalty kick. Marcus Rashford had scored the penalty and this took United to the quarterfinals on the away goals. Roberto Rosetti, the chief referee of UEFA’s guidance seemed to be in line with the decision of Skomina as he gave an advice to the officials that in case the defender makes the body bigger for blocking the ball, it will not be fair. International Football Association Board explained the situation of handball and said if the arm of the player extends beyond the natural silhouette of the body then the penalty should be given. Source:

Check Also

Bayern Munich announced the acquisition of Liverpool striker Mane

Bayern Munich football club has announced signing a contract with Liverpool striker and Senegal national …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.