Wednesday , 29 June 2022
Indian Super League football stadiums list

Indian Super League Football Stadiums

This is about the list of Indian Super League all football stadiums. The ISL, Official known as Hero Indian Super is the football competition of India, the other being the I‑League. The league has total eight franchise teams, each consist of a marquee player. The league will run from October to December, with a finals series determining the champion. Indian Super League was founded in 2013, which is an effort to make football a top sport in India and to make Indian football a major player worldwide. The biggest tournament of India will be held in 8 different stadiums.

Football Stadiums of Indian Super League

Indian Super League football stadiums list In this tournament, total 8 teams will play against each other. Check out the ISL stadiums and city teams which are represented as follows: -

ISL Team Home Ground Capacity
Atletico de Kolkata Salt Lake Stadium 1,20,000
Chennaiyin FC Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Chennai) 40,000
Delhi Dynamos FC Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Delhi) 60,000
FC Goa Fatorda Stadium 24,000
Kerala Blasters Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Kochi) 75,000
Mumbai City FC DY Patil Stadium 55,000
North East United FC Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium 35,000
FC Pune City Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex 22,000

Salt Lake Stadium [Kolkata]

This is the second biggest football stadium all over the world in terms of seating capacity. Salt Lake Stadium is one of the most esteemed stadiums of the world, counted as the biggest in the country & 2nd in the world. The stadium was constructed in the year 1984. It’s owned by Indian Football Association. The 3‑tier stadium has a capacity of housing 1, 20,000 spectators. It is the home ground for the Kolkata based ISL franchise Atletico de Kolkata. It is also home ground of I‑league team Mohun Bagan, the first ever football club of India.

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Delhi) 

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium is a famous multipurpose stadium situated in Delhi. The stadium named after the first PM of independent India, the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium was built by Indian government in the year 1982 to host ninth Asian Games. The stadium has a capacity of 60,000 spectators. It is the proposed home venue for the Delhi Indian Super League franchise.

Read also: Top 10 Football Stadiums in India

Fatorda Stadium [Goa]

Fatorda Stadium is one of the most famous stadiums of Goa, located at Madgaon, constructed in the year 1989 and is owned by Goa Sports Authority. The stadium has a capacity to house 22,000 spectators. It’s the home venue for Sporting Club Goa, Salgaocar S.C., Dempo, Churchill Brothers and the Goa franchise of Indian Super League.

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Kochi)

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium is one of the latest stadiums based in Kochi. The international stadium is reputed for its huge canvas and 2nd biggest stadium of India. The stadium can house as many as 75,000 spectators. Built in the year 1996 by Kerala government with GCDA. It is the home ground for the Kochi based ISL franchise Kerala Blasters.

DY Patil Stadium [Mumbai]

DY Patil Ground is one of the most prestigious football stadiums based in Mumbai. The stadium is especially meant for football matches & was built in the year 1993. It is owned by western India Football Association. The stadium has a capacity of 55,000 and is the home venue of FC Air India, Mumbai F.C. as well as Mumbai based Indian Super League franchise. It is a multi-purpose ground which is also used for cricket as well. Its seating capacity makes it the second largest cricket ground of India.

Read also: Top 10 football club supporters

Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium [Assam]

Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium is one of the newly built football stadiums in Guwahati which is also known as Sarusajai Stadium, the ground was built in the year 2007. The Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium houses around 35,000 spectators and in its maiden year it acted as the host for Indian National Games. The stadium is the home venue for Guwahati ISL franchise.

Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex [Pune]

Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex is a prominent sports complex that includes the Belawadi Stadium. The Pune based complex was constructed in 1994 and owned by Indian government & operated by Indian Olympic Association. It holds a capacity of 22,000 spectators and it was built to host National Games 1994. It is the home venue for the FC Pune City based Indian Super League franchise. Not only for football, the ground is also being used for Rollball, Volleyball, and other athletic games. The first ever international football match on this ground was played on 8 October 2010 between India and Vietnam.

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Chennai)

This is the proposed stadium of Bangalore Indian Super League franchise. It’s a popular multi-purpose stadium based in Chennai (Benguluru) & is mostly meant for the football matches. Built in 1997, The stadium is owned by Karnataka Department of Youth services and Sports. The stadium has a capacity to seat around 40,000 spectators and is the home ground of Chennaiyin FC club city.

The Indian Super League is beginning from start from October 12, 2014 and will ends on December 20, 2014. There will be a total of 61 matches which will include 56 league matches and 4 semi finals and the grand finale. All these matches will be played in 8 different stadiums. Indian super league match starting time would be 7pm IST. Hopes you all gain from the list of Indian Super League Stadiums. 

Check Also

Achraf Lazaar, Newcastle

Achraf Lazaar Is Set For Newcastle Exit During The Winter Transfer Window

According to reports, Newcastle are going to let Achraf Lazaar go when the winter transfer …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.