Friday , 9 December 2022

FIFA Ballon D’Or Award History, Winners

FIFA Ballon D’Or is an awards which is also called as Golden Ball which is given to a Football player who has given best performance in last year Based on votes of captains of international teams, coaches & journalists the best player is awarded with this award. Earlier its was called as European Footballer of the Year award but now it is called as Ballon D’Or. Here is the complete information about the FIFA Ballon D’Or award history with all of its winners.

FIFA Ballon D'Or

History of FIFA Ballon D’Or

Eligibility for this award: This award was invented by Gabriel Hanot who was chief magazine writer of France Football. When this was invented, only those player were eligible for this award who play for European clubs. Earlier, no other players were nominated for this award. One of the football legend Pele who did not played for European club was not eligible for FIFA Ballon D’Or Award at that time. But in the year of 1995, a change in this award was made. The player who is non European but played for the European club was eligible for this award. George Weah from Milan was the first player to win FIFA Ballon D’Or in 1995 who was non European. Then final decision of eligibility was taken in the year of 2007. They decided that every player all around the world is eligible. It also raised the number of journalists votes.

FIFA Ballon D’Or Winners List

Stanley Mathews (England) was the first winner of FIFA Ballon D’Or. He was awarded in 1956. At that time he playing for English football club Blackpool. He got total of 47 points. Lionel Messi from Argentina, is the only footballer who won this trophy 4 times. There are 3 players (Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini, Marco Van Basten) who won this trophy 3 times. FIFA Ballon D'Or Winner List

Year 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
1956 Stanley Mattews(Blackpool) Alfredo Di Stefano(Real Madrid) Raymond Kopa(Real Madrid)
1957 Alfredo Di Stefano(Real Madrid) Billy Wright(Wolverhampton Wanderers) Duncan Edwards(Manchester United)
1958 Raymond Kopa(Real Madrid) Helmut Rahn(Rot Weiss Essen) Just Fontaine(Stade de Reims)
1959 Alfredo Di Stefano(Real Madrid) Raymond Kopa(Real Madrid) John Charles(Juventus)
1960 Luis Suarez(Barcelona) Ferenc Puskas(Real Madrid) Uwe Seeler(Hamburg)
1961 Omar Sivori(Juventus) Luis Saurez(Internazionale) Johnny Haynes(Fulham)
1962 Josef Masopust(Dukla Prague) Eusebio(Benfica) Karl Heinz Schnellinger(Koln)
1963 Lev Yashin(Dynamo Moscow) Gianni Rivera(Milan) Jimmy Greaves(Tottenham Hotspur)
1964 Denis Law(Manchester United) Luis Saurez(Internazionale) Amancio(Real Madrid)
1965 Eusebio(Benfica) Giacinto Facchetti(Internazionale) Luis Saurez(Internazionale)
1966 Bobby Chartlon(Manchester United) Eusebio(Benfica) Franz Becknbauer(Bayern Munich)
1967 Florian Albert(Ferencvarosi TC) Bobby Chartlon(Manchester United) Jimmy Johnstone(Celtic)
1968 George Best(Manchester United) Bobby Chartlon(Manchester United) Dragan Dzajic(Red Star Belgrade)
1969 Gianni Rivera(Milan) Luigi Riva(Cagliari) Gerd Muller(Bayern Munich)
1970 Gerd Muller(Bayern Munich) Bobby Moore(West Ham United) Luigi Riva(Cagliari)
1971 Johan Cruyff(Ajax) Sandro Mazzola(Internazionale) George Best(Manchester United)
1972 Franz Beckenbauer(Bayern Munich) Gerd Muller(Bayern Munich) -
1973 Johan Cruyff(Barcelona) Dino Zoff(Juventus) Gerd Muller(Bayern Munich)
1974 Johan Cruyff(Barcelona) Franz Beckenbauer(Bayern Munich) Kazimierz(Legia Warsaw)
1975 Oleg Blokhin(Dynamo Kyiv) Franz Beckenbauer(Bayern Munich) Johan Cruyff(Barcelona)
1976 Franz Beckenbauer(Bayern Munich) Rob Rensenbrink(Anderlecht) Ivo Viktor(Dukla Prague)
1977 Allan Simonsen(Borussia Monchengladbach) Kevin Keega(Hamburg) Michel Platini(Nancy)
1978 Kevin Keegan(Hamburg) Hans Krankl(Barcelona) Rob Rensenbrink(Anderlecht)
1979 Kevin Keegan(Hamburg) Karl Heinz(Bayern Munich) Ruud Krol(Ajax)
1980 Karl Heinz(Bayern Munich) Bernd Schuster(Barcelona) Michel Platini(Saint Etienne)
1981 Karl Heinz(Bayern Munich) Paul Breitner(Bayern Munich) Bernd Schuster(Barcelona)
1982 Paolo Rossi(Juventus) Alain Giresse(Bordeaux) Zbigniew Boniek(Juventus)
1983 Michel Platini(Juventus) Kenny Dalglish(Liverpool) Allan Simonsen(Vejle)
1984 Michel Platini(Juventus) Jean Tigana(Bordeaux) Preben Elkjaer(Verona)
1985 Michel Platini(Juventus) Preben Elkjaer(Verona) Berd Schuster(Barcelona)
1986 Igor Belanov(Dynamo Kyiv) Gary Lineker(Barcelona) Emilio Butragueno(Real Madrid)
1987 Ruud Gullit(Milan) Paulo Futre(Atletico Madrid) Emilio Butragueno(Real Madrid)
1988 Marco Van Basten(Milan) Ruud Gullit(Milan) Frank Rijkaard(Milan)
1989 Marco van basten(Milan) Franco Baresi(Milan) Frank Rijkaard(Milan)
1990 Lothar Matthaus(Internazionale) Salvatore Schillaci(Juventus) Andreas Brehme(Internazionale)
1991 Jean Pierre Papin(Marseille) Dejan Savicevic(Red star Belgrade) -
1992 Marco van Basten(Milan) Hristo Stoichkv(Barcelona) Dennis Bergkamp(Ajax)
1993 Roberto Baggio(Juventus) Dennis Berghamp(Internazionale) Eric Cantona(Manchester City)
1994 Hristo Stoichkov(Barcelona) Roberto Baggio(Juventus) Paolo Maldini(Milan)
1995 George Weah(Milan) Jurgen Klinsmann(Bayern Munich) Jari Litmanen(Ajax)
1996 Matthias Sammer(Borussia Dortmund) Ronaldo(Barcelona) Alan Shearer(Newcastle United)
1997 Ronaldo(Internazionale) Predrag Mijatovic(Real Madrid) Zinedine Zidane(Juventus)
1998 Zinedane Zidane(Juventus) Davor Suker(Real Madrid) Ronaldo(Internazionale)
1999 Rivaldo(Barcelona) David Beckham(Manchester United) Andryi Shevchenko(Milan)
2000 (Luis Figo)(Real Madrid) Zinedine Zidane(Juventus) Andryi Shevchenko(Milan)
2001 Michael Owen(Liverpool) Raul(Real Madrid) Oliver Kahn(Bayern Munich)
2002 Ronaldo(Real madrid) Roberto Carlos(Real Madrid) Oliver Kahn(Bayern Munich)
2003 Pavel Nedved(Juventus) Thierry Henry(Arsenal) Paolo Maldini(Milan)
2004 Andriy Shevchenko(Milan) Deco(Barcelona) Ronaldinho(Barcelona)
2005 Ronaldinho(Barcelona) Frank Lampard(Chelsea) Steven Gerrard(Liverpool)
2006 Fabio Cannavaro(Juventus) Gianluigi Buffon(Juventus) Thierry Henry(Arsenal)
2007 Ricardo Kaka(Milan) Cristiano Ronaldo(Manchester United) Lionel Messi(Barcelona)
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo(Manchester United) Lionel Messi(Barcelona) Fernando Torres(Liverpool)
2009 Lionel Messi(Barcelona) Cristiano Ronaldo(Real Madrid) Xavi Hernandez(Barcelona)
2010 Lionel Messi(Barcelona) Andres Iniesta(Barcelona) Xavi Hernandez(Barcelona)
2011 Lionel Messi(Barcelona) Cristiano Ronaldo(Real Madrid) Xavi Hernandez(Barcelona)
2012 Lionel Messi(Barcelona) Cristiano Ronaldo(Real Madrid) Andres Iniesta(Barcelona)
2013  Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich) 
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich) Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Check Also

FIFA has banned eight Brazilian players to play until September 14

FIFA has suspended eight Brazilian football players from the English championship. The BBC informs that …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.