Thursday , 27 January 2022
Breaking News
FIFA Ballon D'or 2014 nominations list

FIFA Ballon D’or 2014 Nominees List of 23 All Players

The governing body of football and France football experts have announced the list of 23 players for FIFA Ballon D’or 2014. Best players from all over the world have been selected for the award out of which top 3 will be selected later. The list have shocked football fans with exclusion of Barcelona striker Luis Suarez. He suffered long ban by FIFA because of world cup bite incident which could be the reason of his exclusion. Few days ago, he made debut for Barca against Real Madrid on 25th October 2014. As expected Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are there without any doubt. Once again, Germany have dominated this list with total 6 World Cup champions.

23 Players List of FIFA Ballon D’or 2014 Nominees [Male]

FIFA Ballon D'or 2014 nominations list

Here is the shortlist of 2014 FIFA Ballon D’or award contenders

No.PlayerClub [Current]Country
1Philipp LahmBayern MunichGermany
2Thomas MullerBayern MunichGermany
3Manuel NeuerBayern MunichGermany
4Bastian SchweinsteigerBayern MunichGermany
5Mario GotzeBayern MunichGermany
6Arjen RobbenBayern MunichNetherlands
7Toni KroosReal MadridGermany
8Gareth BaleReal MadridWales
9Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridPortugal
10Karim BenzemaReal MadridFrance
11James RodriguezReal MadridColombia
12Sergio RamosReal MadridSpain
13Lionel MessiBarcelonaArgentina
15Javier MascheranoBarcelonaArgentina
16Andres IniestaBarcelonaSpain
17Thibaut CourtoisChelseaBelgium
18Diego CostaChelseaSpain
19Eden HazardChelseaBelgium
20Zlatan IbrahimovicParis Saint GermainSweden
21Paul PogbaJuventusFrance
22Angel Di MariaManchester UnitedArgentina
23Yaya ToureManchester CityCote d’Ivoire

Total of eight European football clubs are selected for this award. Just the list of 23 contenders for FIFA Ballon D’or revealed and the Real Madrid striker Cristiano Ronaldo is considered as the strongest competitor. About this award Michel Platini stated that “Neither Cristiano Ronaldo, nor Lionel Messi, this award should be won by a German Player.” According to this statement, the Bayern & German goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, his partner Philipp Lahm are the favorites to win this award.

Most contenders from one club: Bayern Munich & Real Madrid [6 players each]
Most contenders from one country: Germany [6 players]

This list of has been drawn by the FIFA football committee experts and group of France football experts. Along with this list, top ten coaches are also announced for the best coach 2014. List of best forwards, midfielders, defenders and goalkeepers for FIFA FIFPro World XI shortlist will be revealed in the end of November month.

On 12 January 2015, the name of FIFA Ballon D’or 2014 winner will be revealed during the award ceremony. The show will be organized at the Zurich Kongresshaus in which FIFPro World XI, best goal of the year, FIFA Presidential award, best coach of the year, fair player award and the Puskas award winners will be announced.

So what do you think, who is going to lift the trophy of FIFA Ballon D’or 2014 award?

Check Also

FIFA has banned eight Brazilian players to play until September 14

FIFA has suspended eight Brazilian football players from the English championship. The BBC informs that …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.