Saturday , 1 October 2022

EURO 2016 Qualifying Groups Draw teams for Qualification matches

The Union of European Football Association has confirmed all national teams for qualification round of EURO 2016. This time, France got the opportunity to organize this UEFA European Championship. The qualification matches of this competition will start from 7 September 2014 & last game will be played in November 2015. On 23 Feb 2014, the draw for this round was held at the Palais des Congres Acropolis, Nice which categorized all teams in 9 groups.

EURO 2016 Qualifying Groups Teams

EURO 2016 Qualification Groups Total of 53 teams will play this qualification round for EURO 2016 which will begin form September. For the first time, Gibraltar is participating in this competition. Being hosting nation, France has already qualified for it. The current champions Spain will face Republic of Macedonia in first qualifications game whereas, tournament most successful team Germany will play against Denmark in opening game. Given below is the group table all teams for qualification games.

Netherlands Czech Republic Bosnia Belgium Spain Ukraine
Turkey Latvia Israel Wales Slovakia Belarus
Iceland Kazakhstan Cyprus Andorra FYROM Luxembourg
Germany Republic of Ireland England Switzerland Greece Hungary
Poland Scotland Slovenia Estonia Romania Finland
Georgia Gibraltar Lithuania San Marino Northern Ireland Faeroe Island
Russia Sweden Italy Croatia Portugal Denmark
Austria Montenegro Norway Bulgaria Serbia Armenia
Moldova Liechtenstein Azerbaijan Malta Albania  

Schedule of Qualification games

On double head weeks of matches, teams will play on Sunday & Thursday or Friday & Monday. The matches are largely scheduled to be played from Thursday to Tuesday with kick off times at 18:00 & 20:45 according to CET. 10 Group stage games will be played & two games will be played in Play-offs. EURO 2012 Champions Spain will play its first match on 8 September 2014 against Macedonia. Whereas, the vice champion Italy’s first match is scheduled against Azerbaijan on 10 October 2014. The competition’s toughest competitors are Spain, Germany, Italy, England, Russia, Sweden, Netherlands. Spain & Germany are the most successful team of this UEFA tournament. Both teams won this competition for 3 times. After the completion of qualification games, the final games will be played in France from 10 June 2016 to 10 July 2016.

Check Also

UEFA EURO 2020 - Turkey vs Italy

The European Football Championship starts tomorrow

Tomorrow, the match Turkey-Italy starts the next European Football Championship. Initially, this tournament was supposed …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.