Monday , 27 June 2022

Copa America Football Winners List | Past History Champions

Copa America Football Winners List: Copa America is known as the oldest international continental football championship which is organized by CONMEBOL. Its last competition was held in Argentina in which Uruguay won its 15th title. The next season will be played in Chile from 11th June 2015 to 4th July. About 99 years ago, its first competition was played in 1916 in Argentina. Given below is the complete list of all winners of Copa America football competition. Have a look on this list and know more about this South American’s main soccer championship.

Copa America All Winners List

Before 1967, this competition was called as South American Championship. After 1967, it got new name i.e. Copa America for which it is known today. Uruguay became the first champions of Copa America. The first competition was played between only four South America football teams. Remaining teams were Argentina, Chile and Brazil. There was no qualifying for the tournament. Teams played in a single round robin tournament. COPA AMERICA ALL WINNERS The first winners of this competition are also the current champions as they clinched their 15 title in Argentina in 2011. Uruguay remain undefeated throughout the competition and defeated every team. Let’s have a look on history of Copa America and find out the other champions. 

Year Host Winners Runners-up
1916 Argentina Uruguay Argentina
1917 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
1919 Brazil Brazil Uruguay
1920 Chile Uruguay Argentina
1921 Argentina Argentina Brazil
1922 Brazil Brazil Paraguay
1923 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
1924 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
1925 Argentina Argentina Brazil
1926 Chile Uruguay Argentina
1927 Peru Argentina Uruguay
1929 Argentina Argentina Paraguay
1935 Peru Uruguay Argentina
1937 Argentina Argentina Brazil
1939 Peru Peru Uruguay
1941 Chile Argentina Uruguay
1942 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
1945 Chile Argentina Brazil
1946 Argentina Argentina Brazil
1947 Ecuador Argentina Paraguay
1949 Brazil Brazil Paraguay
1953 Peru Paraguay Brazil
1955 Chile Argentina Chile
1956 Uruguay Uruguay Chile
1957 Peru Argentina Brazil
1959 Argentina Argentina Brazil
1959 Ecuador Uruguay Argentina
1963 Bolivia Bolivia Paraguay
1967 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
1975 NA Peru Colombia
1979 NA Paraguay Chile
1983 NA Uruguay Brazil
1987 Argentina Uruguay Chile
1989 Brazil Brazil Uruguay
1991 Chile Argentina Brazil
1993 Ecuador Argentina Mexico
1995 Uruguay Uruguay Brazil
1997 Bolivia Brazil Bolivia
1999 Paraguay Brazil Uruguay
2001 Colombia Colombia Mexico
2004 Peru Brazil Argentina
2007 Venezuela Brazil Argentina
2011 Argentina Uruguay Paraguay

Most Successful Team: Uruguay is the most successful team that have won Copa America 15 times in history. They are six times runners-up of this competition also. In 9 campaigns, they finished at third place. Argentina are not too far behind La Celeste. The White and Sky Blues have won this tournament 14 times which means they have great chance to equalized their trophy count with defending champions. In terms of winning games in this competition, Argentina have won maximum matches. Out of 364 Copa America games, Argentina have record of winning 111 of them, playing 31 draws and lost 31 games. They are also the highest goals scorers of CA [422 goals]. So these are all winners list of Copa America football competition. If you found this article helpful, then don’t feel hesitation in sharing it with others.

Check Also

Cristiano Ronaldo became the best scorer in the history of football

Manchester United’s Portuguese striker Cristiano Ronaldo has become the top scorer in the history of …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.