Wednesday , 29 June 2022
2015 FIFA Women's World Cup Start date

2015 Women Football World Cup Start Date, Qualified Teams, Groups

Start date, all qualified teams and groups of 2015 FIFA / Football Women’s World Cup Canada

The seventh edition of FIFA Women’s World Cup is set to begin from 6th June 2015. This competition will be played between 24 qualified national football teams from all six confederations. FIFA have announced the list of all teams and groups of this tournament. For the first time in history of Women’s football world cup, Hawk-Eye system as goal-line technology will be used in this campaign. Defending champions Japan will compete against Switzerland, Cameroon and Ecuador in group stage games.

2015 FIFA Women's World Cup Start date

2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup Start Date

Start Date: 6 June 2015

End Date: 5 July 2015

Host nation Canada will begin the competition against China PR on 6th of June. On same day, New Zealand will play second game of the competition against Netherlands. All 24 teams are divided into six groups having four teams each. Top three teams from each group will directly qualify for the round of 16. The third best placed teams from each group will qualify for the knock out stage [round of 16 / pre-quarter final].

2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup Qualified Teams

  1. Canada
  2. China
  3. South Korea
  4. Japan
  5. Australia
  6. Thailand
  7. Switzerland
  8. England
  9. Norway
  10. Germany
  11. Spain
  12. France
  13. Sweden
  14. Brazil
  15. Colombia
  16. Nigeria
  17. Cameroon
  18. Costa Rica
  19. United States
  20. Ivory Coast
  21. Mexico
  22. New Zealand
  23. Netherlands
  24. Ecuador

North Korea team is banned for playing this World Cup because its players tested positively for enhancing drugs during the 2011 Women’s World Cup. This is the first time in the history of tournament that a team has been banned for playing.

Japan, Norway, Germany, Brazil, United States, Sweden are the most experienced teams of Women’s Football World Cup. These teams have played every edition of this competition.

2015 Women Football World Cup Groups

Given below are the six groups of 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. Each group will play one match against each other.

Group A: Canada, China PR, New Zealand, Netherlands

Group B: Germany Ivory Coast, Norway, Thailand

Group C: Japan, Switzerland, Cameroon, Ecuador

Group D: United States, Australia, Sweden, Nigeria

Group E: Brazil, South Korea, Spain, Costa Rica

Group F: France, England, Colombia, Mexico

Group Stage matches: 6 June to 17 June

Round of 16: 20 June to 23 June

Quarter finals: 26 and 27 June

Semi finals: 30 June and 1st July

Third place play-off: 4th July 2015

Final: 5th July 2015

Check Also

Football legends: Ronaldo. National team career

Yesterday we published an article in which we recalled Ronaldo’s club career in detail. But …