Breaking News
Home > HISTORY > UEFA Europa League History, Prize Money & Winners

UEFA Europa League History, Prize Money & Winners

UEFA Europa League is the professional football league which is organized and controlled by Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). In the league, the teams from Europe participate based on their performance in their respective leagues and cup tournaments. This European League was formed in the year 1791. At that time, it was called as UEFA CUP. In the league, total of 48 teams take part to win the battle.


Region Europe (UEFA)
Date of formation 1971
Total teams 48 (group stage) & 160 (total)
Most time winners Juventus, Internazionale and Liverpool (3 times)
Current winner Chelsea (England)

History of the EUROPA League

In the year 1971, the League was formed with total 11 teams. Lots of changes were made with this football league including its name, logo and qualifications. The first match was played in the season of 1971-72. That match was played between Wolverhampton Wanderers vs. Tottenham Hotspur. Hotspur is the club which has won the first match of the league. The First tournament was won by Juventus. Currently, the English football club Chelsea is the Champion of this League.

It is known that 4 teams have won UEFA Cup & also their domestic league competitions. These winners are Goteborg, Galatasaray , FC Porto and CSKA Moscow in the year of 1982, 2000, 2003 and 2011 respectively. Till 2008 season, the league was known as UEFA Cup & after that it is called as UEFA EUROPA League. The 3rd tire of UEFA which is UEFA Intertoto Cup was stopped to continue.

DONT MISS: UEFA Champions League History

Changes in Logos of the League:

1. The 1st logo of the league three football players were designed playing football inside the orange round. The color of men was green with a green football. The name of the league was designed below this design. UEFA opt this logo until the season of 2004 & thereafter the changes were made in the next.

2. It was the year 2004, from which a new trademark was created. In this logo a trophy was made with 2 colors i.e. blue and violet with three stripes completing the trophy. The footballers were also scripted in this creation. The name was written in green color. This new trademark was selected for the next 6 years from the season of 2004 to 2009.

3. It is the third time at which the final design was made and this creation. The brand new design of logo is created which taken from the year 2010. It is the simplest and easiest but describing logo of the league of the UEFA EUROPA. It is consists of round inside which the trophy is designed. The trophy is designed with 4 stripes. The color of stripes is red and the color of round is orange.

Prize money for the teams


This league gives lots of prizes with money to the winning & to the other teams. Not only winners get money, but the teams which played well also honored. The Prize money is based on the performance of the teams that is divided in payments.

  • First Qualifying Round: €100,000
  • Second Qualifying Round: €100,000
  • Third Qualifying Round: €100,000
  • Play Off-Round: €100,000
  • Base fee for group stage: €1,300,000
  • Group match victory: €200,000
  • Group match draw: €100,000
  • Group winners: €400,000
  • Group runner-ups: €200,000
  • Round of 32: €200,000
  • Round of 16: €350,000
  • Quarter finals: €450,000
  • Semi-finals: €1,000,000
  • Losing Finalist: €2,500,000
  • Winners: €5,000,000
Winners of the EUROPA League
Football Club Winner Runner Up Year
Juventus 3 1 1977, 1990, 1993
Internazionale 3 1 1991, 1994, 1998
Liverpool 3 0 1973, 1976, 2001
Borussia Monchengladbach 2 2 1975, 1979
Tottenham Hotspur 2 1 1972, 1984
Atletico Madrid 2 0 2010, 2012
Feyenoord 2 0 1974, 2002
Goteborg 2 0 1982, 1987
Real Madrid 2 0 1985, 1986
Parma 2 0 1995, 1999
Porto 2 0 2003, 2011
Sevilla 2 0 2006, 2007
Anderlecht 1 1 1983
PSV Eindhoven 1 0 1978
Eintracht Frankfut 1 0 1980
Ipswich Town 1 0 1981
Bayer Leverkusen 1 0 1988
Napoli 1 0 1989
Ajax 1 0 1992
Bayern Munich 1 0 1996
Schalke 04 1 0 1997
Galatasaray 1 0 2000
Valencia 1 0 2004
CSKA Moscow 1 0 2005
Zenit St. Peterburg 1 0 2008
Shakhtar Donetsk 1 0 2009
Chelsea 1 0 2013


Spread the love

About Roman Borissov

Roman Borissov
Roman studied at Mainor High School in Estonia. After he went to University of Tartu for obtaining Master of Arts degree in specialization “Design and development of virtual environments” in 2009. Few years later he has founded BRO OU Company, which maintains web projects like Roman played football for the University of Tartu in a position of a midfielder for 3 years. He truly loves this game and happy to be part of that world. MSc. Editor has many projects to maintain, but Footballwood is one of the favorites. “Our project is inspired by a passion for that magnificent game, which I played since childhood. And today we are happy to connect our life and work with football”, this is how Roman describes Footballwood. Personal contact: “[email protected]” Also, visit page “Contact US” if you want to know more about Roman’s company.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *