Wednesday , 29 June 2022

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2016 Ceremony Time, Date, Live Stream

Real Madrid superstar Cristiano Ronaldo, FC Barcelona icon Lionel Messi and Atletico Madrid forward Antoine Griezmann are all in running to win the main prize of the Best FIFA Football Awards 2016.

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2016

Portugesse Cristiano Ronaldo and Argentine Lionel Messi have become accustomed to going head-to-head for individual prizes over the past ten years — and that trend will continue in 2017 with the inaugural Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony. The superstar duo make up two-thirds of the three-man shortlist for The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award, with the Frenchman Atletico Madrid’s striker Antoine Griezmann also in contention for the gong. There are a number of other prizes also up for grabs, including The Puskas Award, which is awarded to the player who scored the best goal of the year. Here is all the info you need to know ahead of the ceremony: When and where will the ceremony take place? The awards will be handed out on Monday 9 January, with the ceremony starting at 17:30 UK time (23:00 IST time and 12:30 EST time). The venue is Zurich, Switzerland, at the TPC Studios. What are the Best FIFA Football Awards? The Best FIFA Football Awards have been created in a bid to refresh the old FIFA World Player of the Year award. The FIFA World Player of the Year award combined with the Ballon d’Or in 2010 to create the FIFA Ballon d’Or. That partnership lasted for six years, but with that merging agreement now broken, FIFA have once again created a new awards ceremony. Basically, The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award is a direct substitution for the FIFA World Player of the Year award, whose most recent addressee was Lionel Messi in 2009. What awards are up for grabs?

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award. Candidates: Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player Award. Candidates: Marta, Carli Lloyd and Melanie Behringer
  • The FIFA FIFPro World11
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach Award. Candidates: Zinedine Zidane, Fernando Santos and Claudio Ranieri

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Award. Candidates: Pia Sundhage, Silvia Neid and Jill Ellis
  • The FIFA Puskas Award 2016. Candidates: Mohd Faiz Subri, Daniuska Rodriguez and Marlone
  • The FIFA Fair Play Award
  • The FIFA Fan Award. Candidates: Iceland supporters, Borussia Dortmund-Liverpool supporters and ADO Den Haag supporters

Who voted for the awards? The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Player and The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Coach awards are decided by a combination of national team captains (25%), national team managers (25%), media representatives (25%) and the general public (25%). The voting for these four awards has already closed. The FIFA Puskas Award and FIFA Fan Award are voted for by the public and the vote is still open but will close at 9am (British time) on January 9. The FIFA FIFPro World11 recognises the world’s best players in each position from the period between 1 December 2015 and 28 November 2016. Voting for the FIFPro World 11 is done by 45,000 professional players. How can I follow this ceremony? The Best FIFA Football Awards 2016 ceremony will be streamed live on the official FIFA YouTube channel or on the official site. 

Check Also

Wayne Rooney’s Derby County Tragedy

Before us is a team from the Championship, which Wayne Rooney coaches. In the past, …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.