Wednesday , 24 October 2018
Breaking News
Mancini include Balotelli, Chiellini in Italy squad
MILAN, ITALY - JULY 26: Roberto Mancini looks on during the Serie A 2018/19 Fixture unveiling on July 26, 2018 in Milan, Italy. (Photo by Emilio Andreoli/Getty Images)

Mancini include Balotelli, Chiellini in Italy squad

Roberto Mancini has included Mario Balotelli and Giorgio Chiellini in his recent national team squad, according to ESPN.

The Juventus defender is set to make his first competitive outing since their disappointing World Cup qualifying playoff loss over two legs to Sweden back in 2017.

Alongside Chiellini, Balotelli was equally included in the recent team selection as Mancini prepares his team for the upcoming UEFA Nations League games against Poland and Portugal.

Monaco young forward Pietro Pellegri, 17, was among five players receiving their first call-ups by coach Roberto Mancini on Saturday.

The others were Cagliari goalkeeper Alessio Cragno, defenders Manuel Lazzari (Spal) and Cristiano Biraghi (Fiorentina), and midfielder Nicolo Zaniolo (Roma).


Italy host Poland in Bologna on Friday then visit Portugal three days later.

Striker Mario Balotelli could feature in his first official match with Italy since the 2014 World Cup.

Goalkeepers: Alessio Cragno (Cagliari), Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan), Mattia Perin (Juventus), Salvatore Sirigu (Torino).

Defenders: Cristiano Biraghi (Fiorentina), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Mattia Caldara (AC Milan), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Domenico Criscito (Genoa), Emerson Palmieri (Chelsea), Manuel Lazzari (Spal), Alessio Romagnoli (AC Milan), Daniele Rugani (Juventus), Davide Zappacosta (Chelsea).

Midfielders: Nicolo Barella (Cagliari), Marco Benassi (Fiorentina), Bryan Cristante (Roma), Roberto Gagliardini (Inter Milan), Jorginho (Chelsea), Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Nicolo Zaniolo (Roma).

Forwards: Mario Balotelli (Nice), Andrea Belotti (Torino), Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo), Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus), Giacomo Bonaventura (AC Milan), Federico Chiesa (Fiorentina), Ciro Immobile (Lazio), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Pietro Pellegri (Monaco), Simone Zaza (Torino).

Spread the love
  • 25

Check Also

Neymar signed a five-year contract with PSG

Neymar signed a five-year contract with PSG

Both parties signed a contract for five years. According to mass media, Neymar will receive …

Leave a Reply