Wednesday , 26 January 2022
Breaking News
FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Winners

Golden Ball Winners List of FIFA World Cup History

The FIFA World Cup Golden Ball is the award which is given to the best player of this competition. As the name suggests, the trophy is golden in appearance on which some changes have been made right from its start. The technical committee of FIFA makes shortlist of best players throughout the competition. Golden ball should not be confused with Golden boot as the golden shoe is presented to the top goal scorer of FIFA World Cup while this award is given to best player based on his performance. Check out the list of all Golden ball winners.

FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Winners

FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Winners

Given below is the list of Golden Ball winners. Those who finish at second position receives Silver ball & third place winner presented by Bronze Ball. Jose Nasazzi was the first player to win Golden ball award in first ever world cup [1930]. The Uruguayan player won it in his own nation & was responsible for first World Cup victory of Uruguay in first ever World tournament.

FIFA World CupGolden  BallSilver BallBronze Ball
1930 UruguayJose NasazziGuillermo StabileJose Leandro Andrade
1934 ItalyGiuseppe MeazzaMatthias SindelarOldrich Nejedly
1938 FranceLeonidasSilvio PiolaGyorgy Sarosi
1950 BrazilZizinhoJuan SchiaffinoAdemir
1954 SwitzerlandFerenc PuskasSandor KocsisFritz Walter
1958 SwedenDidiPeleJust Fontaine
1962 ChileGarrinchaJosef MasopustLeonel Sanchez
1966 EnglandBobby CharltonBobby MooreEusebio
1970 MexicoPeleGersonGerd Muller
1974 West GermanyJohan CruyffFranz BeckenbauerKazimierz Deyna
1978 ArgentinaMario KempesPaolo RossiDirceu
1982 SpainPaolo RossiFalcaoKarl-Heinz Rummenigge
1986 MexicoDiego MaradonaHarald SchumacherPreden Elkjaer Larsen
1990 ItalySalvatore SchillaciLothar MatthausDiego Maradona
1994 United StatesRomarioRoberto BaggioHristo Stoichkov
1998 FranceRonaldoDavor SukerLilian Thuram
2002 Kore/JapanOliver KahnRonaldoHong Myung-Bo
2006 GermanyZinedine ZidaneFabio CannavaroAndrea Pirlo
2010 South AfricaDiego ForlanWesley SneijderDavid Villa
2014 BrazilLionel MessiThomas MullerArjen Robben

Golden Ball Maximum Award Winners by Nation

The Brazilian footballers have won maximum Golden ball awards in the history of FIFA World Cup. From this nation, 7 players have won it [Leonidas, Zizinho, Didi, Garrincha, Pele, Romario, Ronaldo]. In last tournament [2010 South Africa], the Uruguayan player Diego Forlan was awarded with this award. From Spain, there is only one player who won Bronze award in last world cup.

Check Also

Achraf Lazaar, Newcastle

Achraf Lazaar Is Set For Newcastle Exit During The Winter Transfer Window

According to reports, Newcastle are going to let Achraf Lazaar go when the winter transfer …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.