Breaking News
Home > FIFA Ballon d'or > Christiano Ronaldo Ballon D’or 2016 Winner Watch Video

Christiano Ronaldo Ballon D’or 2016 Winner Watch Video

Real Madrid striker Cristiano Ronaldo beat his archrival Lionel Messi to win the prestigious Ballon d’Or award for a fourth time in his career.


Christiano Ronaldo Ballon D’or 2016 Winner

The 31-year-old is now one behind Barcelona’s superstar Lionel Messi, who took the honour for a fifth time last year.

Atletico Madrid’s French striker Antoine Griezmann finished third in the vote. Ronaldo had a phenomenal year as he helped Real Madrid to win last season’s UEFA Champions League and he also netted three goals as Portugal national team won Euro 2016.

MILAN, ITALY - MAY 28:  Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid   kisses the trophy after winning the UEFA Champions League Final match between Real Madrid and Club Atletico de Madrid at Stadio Giuseppe Meazza on May 28, 2016 in Milan, Italy.  (Photo by Matthias Hangst/Getty Images)

Christiano has now won the Ballon d’Or in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016, with the Argentine Lionel Messi is the only other recipient of the award since winning it for the first time in 2009.

“I never thought in my mind that I would win the Golden Ball four times. I am pleased. I feel so proud and happy,” said Ronaldo.

“I have the opportunity to thank all of my team-mates, the national team, Real Madrid, all of the people and players who helped me to win this individual award.”

The former Manchester United player has scored 19 goals in 20 games for club and country this term, to add to the 54 he got last season.


Ronaldo’s Real Madrid team-mate Gareth Bale finished sixth in the vote, while the Premier League champion’s Leicester City speedster forward Jamie Vardy – the only Englishman included on the 30-player shortlist – was eighth.

The Ballon d’Or is voted for by 173 journalists from around the world.

It has been awarded by France Football magazine every year since 1956, but for the past six years it became the FIFA Ballon d’Or in association with world football’s governing body and was awarded to the world’s best player.

However, FIFA ended its association with the award in September.

FIFA will hand out its own prize for the world’s best men’s player, along with the best women’s player and team of the year, at the Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in Zurich on 9 January.

Below you can watch the video from the mini-ceremony where Ronaldo was awarded his prize.

Spread the love

About Maxim Mikhaylov

Maxim Mikhaylov
Maxim Mikhaylov born in Russian Federation. He Studied at Saratov State University at the Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technologies. Earned a master degree in 2012. He worked as a journalist for 5 years before joining Footballwood. Maxim worked on a wide variety of news and entertainment stories. He loves writing about football matches, events and most popular superstars like Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar, and others. Maxim is football addicted and he’s totally enjoining that lifestyle. He is a regular player of FC “Zarya” on position of striker. His another hobby is professional commenting of football matches on the local radio. Maxim likes to spend his free time with own family and close friends. Working on Footballwood, he is following top five European leagues and major Asian and North American tournaments. He is responsible for match previews, important football news and match reviews of the major leagues. Contact Maxim Mikhaylov on personal e-mail: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *